Posts

Showing posts with the label befriend

Friend or Follow

Image
To reply my Yelper friend's question from awhile back, "Why do I see some people on my feed but they are not my friends?" Answer: You marked to follow them. Doesn't matter if you are friends or not, anyone you follow will be showing on top of all feed, reviews and tips. It's good to follow someone on Yelp. It's completely anonymous until November 28, 2017. After that, any new follower will be visible ( updated per Yelp Blog 11/02/17 ). They don't know you are following them. Befriend with someone on Yelp will reveal each other's check-in messages. I don't see any harm to follow your friends. Except, the contents from people you follow will go to the top of everything. I like extremes. Porsche posted over 17k media. From what I know besides reviews, tips, photo post notifications, you'll receive notifications from your friends' interests in Events and posts on Talks on the feed. It's much easier to read them on the app because...

Missed You on Yelp

Image
After the Yelp page's redesign, all the notifications like compliments, friend requests and messages are not easily visible. Desktop version went through a major redesign.  So sorry. I missed you. It used to be on the home page. It's moved to upper right side of screen - hard to see. When I clicked on "About me", the notification indicator disappears. Please message me if I didn't respond to you.

Auto-Friending Feature

Image
All of the sudden, my Yelp friend list got so big. Wait, who the #%$* and that *#@$ from my Facebook are now my Yelp friends. Then, I went checking on my settings. Oh, no, I don't like this idea. I want this feature to be permanently un-checked. Not everyone on my Facebook with a Yelp account is Yelp active. In fact, my Yelp friends on Facebook is more active than those Facebook friends with Yelp account in general. I keep my Yelp friend list small is because the ease of sending invitations to my UYE's and other events. The current process is very time consuming, unless HQ changes the invitation style. I created a  step by step instruction on my blog . I guess HQ was responding to some people complained about they still having trouble to invite FB friends. Then, I noticed the request screen has changed. Below is a capture from desktop compared to the app, The request from Facebook appeared differently. I'm happy to get my control back.

Connecting your Facebook friends

Image
I have a few Yelpers asked me how to link their Facebook friends to a Yelp account. I remember I set this up once long time ago. Try these steps: Go to a computer and log in to www.yelp.com Go to the upper right side of page and look for your avatar. Click on the vertical bar next to your photo on the upper-right side. Select Account Settings and you may need to login again. Click on  External Applications link. This is the only way to manage settings for Facebook and Twitter.